The question is, can you stop a WhatsApp message after you’ve sent it. Is there a way to delete and recall a WhatsApp message? The answer is both yes and no! Many of my readers also ask, is it possible to delete a WhatsApp message with one tick showing in bubble? The answer is no! Let’s find out the reasons behind it. Last week, I explained how a message travels from your mobile to the receiver and how WhatsApp notify this through tick marks (check marks). As I said in that article, a clock icon on your message bubble indicates that the message is waiting and has not yet left your mobile phone. So, if your message is still showing a clock icon in the bottom-right corner, and you realize that you did not want to send that message –you’re in luck! You should immediately turn off mobile Internet connection on your smartphone. This will block the channel and message will remain in your mobile. Then delete the message from WhatsApp before connecting to the Internet again. Important Read: WhatsApp allows you to hide the fact that you’ve read the message. You can also hide your Last Seen status. But this method is mostly useless! You’ll have long enough time frame to turn off Internet only if your Internet connection is slow. So, if you’re from a place where Internet speed is sluggish, you may have a few seconds to decide and switch off network. In most cases, however, WhatsApp message travels at a very fast speed. It will not give you enough time to realize and react. As soon as the message leaves your mobile and reaches WhatsApp server, the clock icon will change into single tick sign. And once the clock icon is gone, there is no way to hold your message back. It will reach the recipient as and when her mobile device will connect to the Internet. SEE ALSO: Learn cool WhatsApp Tricks UPDATE: A few of my readers have suggested a way to stop a WhatsApp message before it gets delivered. I have not tested this method but it sound pretty logical. If you block the recipient contact before you get double tick icon, it may be possible that the WhatsApp Server will not deliver the message. WhatsApp server keeps undelivered messages on its server for about 30 days. Therefore, if you unblock the person before 30 days, the stopped message may go ahead and get delivered. So, do not unblock before 30 days! As I said, I have not tested the above mentioned trick. If you use it, please let me know the results. We would love to hear from you! I hope this answers your question. Better be of safer side and decide before you send anything on WhatsApp (or any online channel for that matter). The one tick & blocking thing doesn’t work. I sent message to wrong person and while it was still one grey tick, I blocked the contact as mentioned by some people here. Guess what, in sometime itself I saw 2 blue ticks indicating that the message was read by that person. It doesn’t work. Hope it helps please let me know if there is any better way However I cannot recall whether I saw a clock or a tick…sadly I cannot remember! I guess I need to understand…….. can WhatsApp message sent – turn to tick symbol when with ZERO internet connection? Any help would be great So I am more keen on getting the blue double ticks. Message could have been delivered but not read yet. So a Sender should have an option to delete it from recipient’s device. As its not READ yet and Whatsapp server should be able to delete it. That’s a common flaw about these messaging apps as they are robotic and do not understand Human Psychology completely. I sent a really long whataspp message 2 days ago (it has one tick), and despite this person actively using their phone & the internet (although not logging into Whatsapp), the message hasn’t delivered to their phone. Can messages get lost in transmission? I’m not really bothered about the message going through now so I’ve blocked the person to avoid the message being delivered to their phone. Anyone found this method to work? Whatsapp should fix this. well I had a similar experience sending a wrong picture to a WhatsApp group. Immediately after it happened, I noticed the message was still rolling and had not yet shown a clock icon or the “one tick” icon so I quickly deleted it. I immediately took out my sim afterwards and battery. Finding out from colleagues on the group, I was told nothing dropped and that got me very relieved. Really don’t know if removing my sim interrupted the message delivery in anyway though. My fear now is that I have not been able to bring myself to the point of inserting my sim back in my phone. Don’t know if changing my sim and registering WhatsApp with the new sim will alter the process forever and prevent it from delivering forever. This is the 7th day since the incident and my sim has been outta my phone. Please I need your advice. My question is, if I delete it whilst the clock icon is still there, the message definitely won’t go through? I was going through the comments regarding the wrongly sent messages on whatsapp. I want to know what if somebody has mistakenly sent a messages to Group chat. Is there a way to stop these messages? I have accidently sent a WhatsApp to a differnet person than I meant to. I really need it deleted. It has 1 grey tick and I deleted the text and blocked the user. I appreciate that you have had lots of other comments regarding this but what is the most up to date response. The recipient of my WhatsApp was on a plane at the time, not that this would make any difference I suppose. I was unaware of the delete function. however, I removed my sim cards and uninstalled WhatsApp, all while being offline. what happens when i turn my phone back online? I have read the uninstall reinstall info from WhatsApp where it says that all recent chat history, not already previously backed up, will be lost when i reinstall. does this apply to my message with the clock symbol? You’ll still get voice messages, but they will not get automatically downloaded. Hope this will help you! Final conclusion It is impossible to stop the single gray tick message at our end. WhatsApp customers support team maybe help in this situation I have practically check this method on my own two different mobile nos on WhatsApp It will not stop those massages that have already been sent by you and marked with single tick/double tick. I sent a message in ERROR this same contact, three weeks after the single tick appeared on the previous message. I saw where I can block the contact and the message will not be delivered. Can you verify this, Please? If you delete a message or picture from a WhatsApp group, it will be deleted only from your mobile device. Other group members will still receive the message. on whatsapp I wrote ‘okk…’ to someone but it showed up on his side as ‘you are dead’. he sent me the screen shot. is it possible any how? By mistake i sent a message to a person. but at the time i send mesage my internet was not working. I deleted that message. can i on my internet now ? will it be safe. Pramod Comment * Name * Email * Website

Δ

Recall and Delete WhatsApps Message Sent to Wrong Person - 60Recall and Delete WhatsApps Message Sent to Wrong Person - 95